Shakib strikes Zimbabwe twice after hitting ton

Google+ Pinterest LinkedIn Tumblr +
Bangladesh 281/7 (50 overs)
Zimbabwe  118/3 (22.1)
Zimbabwe won the toss and chose to bowl first


With ball in hand, ace all rounder Shakib Al Hasan removed two wickets in an over after hitting a lovely century in the first ODI against Zimbabwe at Chittagong.

The visitors were chasing 181 runs set by the hosts after losing three wickets.

Shakib toppled the important wicket of Sikandar Raza (15) in his third delivery during seventh over and sent Vusi Sibanda (0) back to the pavilion in his fifth delivery of the same over. Mahmudullah also took another big wicket removing Hamilton Masakadza (42).

Earlier, Shakib Al Hasan scored his sixth ODI hundred off 95 balls lacing his innings with 10 boundaries in his comeback match after disciplinary ban, helping Bangladesh to 281 for 7 in 50 overs.

Shakib (101) along with wicket keeper Mushfiqur Rahmin (54) pulled the Tigers from crumbled edge after three top order batsmen were lost early. Mushfiqur smashed his 17th ODI fifty off 59 balls.

After their departure, Sabbir Rahman provided the fireworks towards the end with a 25-ball 44 which included three fours and sixes each. He hammered Tinashe Panyangara with two consecutive big boundaries over midwicket and mid-off in last two balls of the innings.

Panyangara took three wickets while Chatara two.

The wickets of Tamim Iqbal, Anamul Haque and Mahmudullah were lost before drinks. The run rate was just above 2 runs an over during the first 10 overs.

Anamul Haque, Mahmudullah and Mominul were out plying false shots.

The home side came down to bat in today’s day-night match with confidence after whitewashing the visiting side 3-0 in the Test series.

Mashrafe Mortaza and Elton Chigumbura pose with the ODI series trophy at Chittagong on Thursday. Photo: BCB

Mashrafe Mortaza and Elton Chigumbura pose with the ODI series trophy at Chittagong on Thursday. Photo: BCB

On Wednesday, the BCB XI team beat Zimbabwe by 88 runs in a practice match.

Bangladesh will attack Zimbabwe with three fast bowlers Mashrafe, Al Amin Hossain and Rubel Hossain. Shakib Al Hasan will lead the spin attack with Arafat Sunny.

Bangladesh’s Sabbir Hossain is a debutant. Zimbabwe gave an international debut to medium-pacer Solomon Mire, while Timycen Maruma, Neville Madziva, Shingi Masakadza and Peter Moor missed out for today.

The dew factor will influence the pitch at Zahur Ahmed Chowdhury Stadium and will make life hard for spinners in the early winter evening.



Tamim Iqbal, Anamul Haque, Mominul Haque, Mushfiqur Rahim (wk), Shakib Al Hasan, Mahmudullah, Sabbir Rahman, Mashrafe Mortaza*, Arafat Sunny, Rubel Hossain, Al-Amin Hossain


Sikandar Raza, Vusi Sibanda, Brendan Taylor, Hamilton Masakadza, 5 Elton Chigumbura*, Solomon Mire, Regis Chakabva (wk), Tinashe Panyangara, John Nyumbu, Tendai Chatara,Tafadzwa Kamungozi